Industrial Strength

The light over the door on the dock.
The steps up yep that’s it.
They are slick.
We are here line forms there.
Okay so we hug brick.
A few of the guys lean.
Me I don’t lean.
I simply occupy the space.
It’s the brick I suppose.
All the leaning against.
The slimy film accumulates.
The rectangular that just seems to go on and on.
Well…not right here more a horizon thing.
Gretchen has not arrived yet.
You lean. I see you are a leaner.

“Where is Gretchen?”
“She is not here yet.”
“Why not?”
“We do not know we just got here.”
“What time is it?”
“She will be here.”
“Where is Gretchen?”
“We do not know.”
“How long you been here?”
“We just got here.”
“What the crap?”
“Where’s Gretchen?”

You see they all lean.

“She is not here.”
“Why not?”
“We don’t know we just got here.”
“I’m supposed to make coffee.”
“She’ll be here.”
“Where’s Gretchen?”
“She is not here.”
“Did you go out yesterday?”
“Yep gravel pit.”
“Where is Gretchen?”
“She is not here yet.”
“What time is it?”
This space I have decided I will no longer occupy.
Things will go sideways in a hurry soon.
Like I said not right here.
Catatonic.
I know this great place for breakfast.
The food comes in on a train and goes around and around.

The food and the train going around and around.
It never stops.

Leave a Reply

